Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Pim names squad...of 31


Socceroos coach Pim Verbeek has today announced his provisional World cup squad for South Africa 2010. Verbeek announced a squad of 31 instead of the usual 30, with Eugene Galekovic joining the squad in-case of injury to Mark Schwarzer, Brad Jones or Adam Federici.

The full squad is:

Michael Beachamp, Marco Bresciano, Tim Cahill, Nick Carle, David Carney, Scott Chipperfield, Jason Culina, Brett Emerton, Adam Federici, Eugene Galekovic, Richard Garcia, Vincenzo Grella, James Holland, Brett Holman, Mile Jedinak, Brad Jones, Joshua Kennedy, Harry Kewell, Shane Lowry, Scott McDonald, Mark Milligan, Craig Moore, Lucas Neill, Jade North, Thomas Oar, Nikita Rukavytsya, Mark Schwarzer, Carl Valeri, Dario Vidosic, Luke Wilkshire, Rhys Williams

A selection of interesting pieces on the squad:

Con Stamocostas, editor of Half Time Heroes, runs the rule over the squad (A Football Story)

Pim: GloryRoos had to miss out (442)

More Pim: Why I picked the players I did (442)

Pim Quote of the Day:

"David was one of the players who was champion with FC Twente this year. I saw the celebration and I promise you David was part of the celebration. Aussies like celebrations and parties and he did very well in his team." (On David Carney's selection. WHAT? I'm not criticising the selection, Carney is a good player. But WHAT? He likes partying...great.)

A more detailed review of the squad will follow in the coming days.

So what do you think? Who will get cut from the squad and will moving to Norway and being a bench warmer help my bid for World Cup selection? Let us know!


No comments:

Post a Comment