Saturday, February 20, 2010

Asian Cup squad announced for vital game against Indo

Pim Verbeek has named a predominately Australian based squad for the last Asian Cup qualifier, against Indonesia in March. The extended twenty five man squad included only four overseas Aussies, of which only one (Luke Wilkshire) is currently playing in Europe. While the game is on a FIFA sanctioned date, it is a date set for friendlies, and as such any Euroos would only have a few days to get to Australia and then back.
Australia could possibly qualify with a loss against Indonesia, but would need Kuwait to defeat Oman. As such I think Verbeek will be setting out to win (especially as the game is in Brisbane).

The inclusion of Tommy Oar, Ben Kantarovskim Matthew Leckie and Luke De Vere is a good sign, with all four youngsters looking very promising. However whether or not they will actually take part in the fixture is still unknown.

The complete squad is:

Clint Bolton, Alex Brosque, Shannon Cole, Simon Colosimo, Jason Culina, Luke Devere, Andrew Durante, Eugene Galekovic, Scott Jamieson, Ben Kantarovski, Josh Kennedy, Mathew Leckie, Michael Marrone, Daniel McBreen, Jon Mckain, Matt Mckay, Mark Milligan, Stuart Musialik, Jade North, Tommy Oar, Matt Thompson, Danny Vukovic, David Williams, Luke Wilkshire, Michael Zullo.